Skip to content

Shotwell remember db tags

May 1, 2013

Sometimes there are good news.
Using Ubuntu 12.04 (Precise Pangolin) you have Shotwell as default photo manager.
It has the options to save metadata (titles, labels and other (?)) in the photo file.
That can be good or bad I do not know but for sure I found that option on so all my photos were affected.
Anyway there are few information that shotwell does not store in the files by it keeps in its db.
Later I had to reimport all my photo libray and I wondered which of the following was shotwell strategy:
1) both db and file information is preserved
2) only db information is preserved (so the one in the file is lost)
3) only file information is preserved (so the one in the db is lost)
Well, shotwell follows the 1st. That’s good for me.
Ah, another information: I reimported the library without changing the files and theirs name. I only moved the library from directory /my_home/abc to directory /my_home/xyz.

From → Technology

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

