Skip to content

Ubuntu could not start graphic environment – A solution

August 2, 2012

Yesterday I got ‘running in low graphics mode’ error from my Ubuntu 12.04 (Precise Pangolin) on my Asus N53.
That error prevents me to get the graphic enviroment.
I could not do any of the of Ubuntu suggestion screens but switch to console (ctrl+alt+f1).
After few investigation hours I got the cause: root ‘/’ filesystem ran out of space.
So solution was very simple: free some space.
The interesting thing is how I got to the cause.
Solutions and sugestions got from the Net were quite useless but from them I got hints for problem determination. Reading them I discovered which log files I had to read. Eventually I arrived to /var/log/lightdm and there I found out that ‘greeter’ could not be written due a lack of space.

From → Technology

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

